Home Contact us
Home History Diary eBook Principal Teachers Clubs Students Old Boys OBA Photos Videos Register

 Home College Events

The 8th Battle of Hindus ends in draw; Jaffna Hindu showed power play in the last overs. Dep. Speaker Sumathipala Chief Guest
Posted on: 06/03/2017 (Monday)
The 8th Battle of Hindus, the annual big match between Jaffna Hindu College and Hindu College Colombo, held from 3rd to 4th March 2017 at the Hindu College Colombo ground ended in a draw. Though Jaffna Hindu showed some power play in their second innings, they couldn’t trounce Colombo Hindu and take the encounter towards a decisive result as they were left with limited overs to face the balls.
The Deputy Speaker and current President of Sri Lanka Cricket honoured the two schools by accepting the invitation and being the chief guest on the first day. He, on behalf of the Sri Lanka Cricket, congratulated both the teams and has arranged to present cricket gears for both the teams at the award ceremony. 

Jaffna Hindu College that won the toss called in Hindu College Colombo to bat first. In their first innings Colombo Hindu playing 54 overs and losing all wickets scored 287 runs. S.Mathurshan 72, Gajendran 35, Yutheesan (captain) 63, and Hariharan 43. Jaffna Hindu’s Y.Vidhusan, L.Sivalaxan, N.Abipriyan, and K.Nikesh took 2 wickets each. 
Jaffna Hindu started their first innings with a good play and the openers K.Santosh and Y.Vidhusan shared 73 runs between them for the first wicket partnership. That gave a good start for Jaffna Hindu and then the Jaffna Hindu Captain Gayananth coming in for the 9th wicket too showed some good play. The 9th wicket pair scored an amazing 103 runs. In just 53 balls they took 63 runs that included 2 sixers and 9 boundaries. But the good bowling from Colombo Hindu in the last overs restrained Jaffna Hindu to 279 runs (53.5 overs) in their first innings. Gayananth 63, K. Santosh 39, Y.Vithusan 52, M. Thuvarakan 51, L. Sivalaxan 38.

Coming in to play their second innings, Colombo Hindu managed to score only 229 runs in 55 overs. A good bowling for Jaffna Hindu by N.Abipriyan, who took 4 wickets giving 39 runs, and L.Sivalaxan, who took 3 wickets for 32 runs, restricted Colombo Hindu for 229 runs. For Colombo Hindu, S.Sheron scored 50, Sevak 63, Yutheesan 33, and P.Kumar scored 28.
In responding to Colombo Hindu, with a target set at 238 runs in mere 20 overs, Jaffna Hindu was compelled to play aggressively due to the limited overs in their hands. That led their opening batsman K.Santosh loose his wicket just for a run. He was clean bowled by Yutheesan. However, Y.Vidhusan, the opening batsman at the other end, played responsibly and scored 40 runs, including 5 boundaries. M. Thuvarakan, coming in for the fourth wicket, with his power play changed the style of the match as T-20. Facing just 26 balls, he blasted the ball to 5 sixers and 2 boundaries and scored 44 runs. But untimely, he had to leave the ground giving a good catch to Sevak for Sheron’s ball. Though Jaffna Hindu power played, they were able to score only 124 runs in 20 overs losing 5 wickets, which ended the Battle of Hindus in a draw.  For Jaffna Hindu, in the second innings, Y.Vidhusan scored 40, M. Thuvarakan scored 44, and K.Nikesh scored 23.
The 8th Battle of Hindus trophy was shared by both the teams and was presented to the captains of both the teams by Mr.Thayanantharajh, Principal of Jaffna Hindu College and Mr.D.P.Parameswaran, Principal of Hindu College Colombo.
Following cricketers received special awards.
1. Vidhusan (Jaffna Hindu College) - Best Batsman
2. Gajendran (Hindu College Colombo) – Best Bowler
3. Mathushan (Hindu College Colombo) – Best Fielder
4. Yutheesan (Hindu College Colombo) – Man of the Match
Of the 8 games played so far, Hindu College Colombo won 3, Jaffna Hindu won 1, and the rest of the four ended in a draw. The ninth Battle of Hindus will be held next year in the Jaffna Hindu College grounds.
The Jaffna Hindu Web team congratulates both teams for the wonderful game they played.

News & Photos: Mas.Tharmaratnam Sujeevan and Mas.Balasubramaniam Pakeetharan from Colombo.

Recent Posts
Mr.Sathasivam Nimalan appointed as the new Principal of Jaffna Hindu
JHCA Canada AGM held on Dec 9th, Krish Ratnasingham was elected as President
3A's 21 and 2A 1B 25 for Jaffna Hindu in the GCE (A/L) 2017 Results: District 1st in Bio and Eng.Tech
 Hindu Circle   
Kantha Sasti Viratham starts on Friday 20 Oct 2017
His Excellency Maithiripala Srisena visited Jaffna Hindu and opened the Technological Faculty
Comments (No Facebook Account - Comment Here)
Full Name:   Email:   Country:   CAPTCHA:
Geethavani Awards 2017 - Sydney
Ghana Mazhai 2017 - Victoria
Join Jaffna Hindu Database
Jaffna Hindu Jan 2018
NZ OBA Inauguration
Alumni Fiesta 2014
College - May 2014
Kalaiyarasi 2014 UK
Battle of Hindus
College Web Team
Ground News About us
College Events Hindu Products
Principal's Message Contact us
College Song  
College Logo  
Hindu Database Hindu Media
Principals Diary
Teachers Photo Library
Old Boys Video Library
Students eBooks
User Name:    
Register new user    
Forgot your password?    
twitter facebook youtube