Home Contact us
Home History Diary eBook Principal Teachers Clubs Students Old Boys OBA Photos Videos Register

 Home International Australasia

Sydney OBA won the first Kugan Cup in the Battle of Blue and White held today
Posted on: 14/09/2014 (Sunday)
The Battle of Blue and White, the cricket match between JHCOBA Sydney (Open Team) and Jolly Stars Melbourne for the first Kugan Cup, was played on Sunday, 14th September 2014, in Sydney. The match was at the Jones Park, Burnett Street and Banks Street Corner, Parramatta. Sydney OBA won the match and took away the first Kugan Cup trophy.
The Kugan cup cricket match was organized in memory of Yogaratnam Kugan, who had contributed to sports and other activities at Jaffna Hindu College. Kugan cup cricket match is a joint initiative by JHCOBA Sydney and JHCOBA Victoria. It will be played annually hereafter and will be held in Sydney and Melbourne alternatively.  Today’s match was inaugurated by Kugan’s brother Eng.Yoharatnam Suthan, an active member of JHCOBA Sydney.
The 40 overs match started at 9.05 AM with both captains ready for the toss. Sydney OBA, captained by Vijithan, won the toss and opted to bat first. The first pair of batsmen to open the match on behalf of Sydney team was Kumaran and Ranjithan. The pair did well with Kumarn scoring 55 runs and Ranjithan 25 runs. In total, Sydney open team scored 217 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 40 overs. 
After lunch break, the Melbourne team started their innings with a target of 218 runs to reach. Melbourne Jolly Stars team was captained by Naren. They were all out for 190 runs; though Garthik single handedly scored 81 runs. Unfortunately, he was caught by Mukunthan for Vijithan’s ball. Garthik, no doubt, was adjudicated as the Best Batsman of Kugan Cup 2014. 
The Best Bowler was Nirmalan from Sydney OBA team, and Best Fielder was Mukunthan, also from Sydney OBA team. The Man of the Match was Kumaran; he too was from Sydney OBA team. 
The match ended around 4 PM and followed was the Presentation ceremony. Mr.Suthan Yogaratnam presented the Kugan Cup to the winning team, the Sydney OBA Open team.
The event was graced by a large gathering. The executive committee members of Melbourne OBA, Mr.Vijayarajan, the President, Mr. Sujanthan, the Secretary, and Mr.Aathavan, the Sports Secretary,  too were present at the event. Sydney OBA President Mr.Sivakumaran participated together with Colombo OBA President Mr.Asokan.
Sydney OBA Vice President Mr.G.Partheepan thanked the Melbourne Jolly Stars and Melbourne OBA for coming all the way to Sydney to make this event very successful and memorable. He extended his special thanks to Mr.Naren, Captain of Melbourne Jolly Stars and Mr.Vijayarajan, President of Melbourne OBA for coordinating all arrangements and facilitating travel arrangements in Melbourne to bring the team to Sydney and make the event happen. 
Link to Related Posts
Recent Posts
 Hindu Circle   
Jaffna Hindu Alumni Youth Wing celebrated Alumni Fiesta 2017 at KKS Beach
 Hindu Circle   
The Tamil New Year (Avilambi) dawns on Fri 14th Apr 2017 at 12.48 AM
Indian Institutes of Technology (IIT) Entrance Test to be conducted in Colombo on May 21, 2017
Abinanthan from Jaffna Hindu tops in GCE (O/L) 2016 results in Tamil medium; 100% pass rate at Jaffna Hindu
The 8th Battle of Hindus ends in draw; Jaffna Hindu showed power play in the last overs. Dep. Speaker Sumathipala Chief Guest
Comments (No Facebook Account - Comment Here)
Full Name:   Email:   Country:   CAPTCHA:
Mega Geethavani Awards 2015 - Sydney
Ghana Mazhai 2015 - Victoria
Join Jaffna Hindu Database
NZ OBA Inauguration
Alumni Fiesta 2014
College - May 2014
Kalaiyarasi 2014 UK
Battle of Hindus
Sports Meet 2014
College Web Team
Ground News About us
College Events Hindu Products
Principal's Message Contact us
College Song  
College Logo  
Hindu Database Hindu Media
Principals Diary
Teachers Photo Library
Old Boys Video Library
Students eBooks
User Name:    
Register new user    
Forgot your password?    
twitter facebook youtube