Home Contact us
Home History Diary eBook Principal Teachers Clubs Students Old Boys OBA Photos Videos Register

 Home International Australasia

Sydney OBA presented another successful Geethavani Awards
Posted on: 11/10/2016 (Tuesday)
Sydney OBA presented their Flagship event Geethavani Awards 2016 on last Saturday, 8 October 2016, to a fully packed audience at the Bankstown Sports Club. The Geethavani Awards is a music concert and a singing competition to identify and encourage local talents and was conducted, as usual, under four categories. Sydney's popular music band the "Eastern Empire" directed the music concert well.
The Geethavani Awards events unfolded with the lighting of the traditional oil lamp by Mr.Ponnampalam, the patron of the Sydney OBA and former Principle of Jaffna Hindu, Mrs. Ponnampalam, Mr.Sivanathan, the President of Sydney OBA, Mrs.Sivanathan,  and Prof. E.Ambihairajah. Following that was Tamil Thai Vaazhththu and then the college song was sung by the old boys of Jaffna Hindu. The President of Sydney OBA welcomed the guests. 
The first performance to take stage was a dance by the students of Bharathalaya Dance School. Aruthi Kumanan, Divashini Ramesh, Shmirthi Chakaravarthi, and Vijayal Vije gave that lovely dance performance. Apirami Kumaradevan directed the dance performances. Following that visual treat, the playback singers Charulathamani and Vijayanarayan opened up the music concert with some lovely songs. The Eastern Empire music band together with the keyboardist Ramesh Rangamani and guitarist Sureshkumar from India provided the orchestra for the concert.
The key event of the Geethavani Awards, the singing competition, followed next. The competition was conducted under four different categories; junior, youth, senior, and duet. So much of music talent within our local artists was displayed on the stage at that night. Charulathamani gave her comments about finalist’s singing in between the performances. The winners were selected by audience voting. Following are the Geethavani Award winners in each category.  
Geethavani Awards- Junior (12–17 age group):  Ms.Abirami Puvanenthiran
Geethavani Awards-Youth (18–34 age group):  Mr.Vimal Vinothan
Geethavani Awards-Senior (over 35-age group):  Mr.Chitra Venkatraman
Geethavani Award-Duet (12 years and above):  Seyon Raghavan and Mayi Raghavan
Mr.Maheswaran Prabaharan compered the events.
Recent Posts
Inter House Athletic Meet held on 16th Feb; Mr.Loga Pradhaban Chief Guest; Champions - Sellathurai
 Hindu Circle   
Maha Sivarathri is on Tuesday, 13 Feb 2018 ; ANZ 14 Feb
Mr.Sathasivam Nimalan appointed as the new Principal of Jaffna Hindu
JHCA Canada AGM held on Dec 9th, Krish Ratnasingham was elected as President
3A's 21 and 2A 1B 25 for Jaffna Hindu in the GCE (A/L) 2017 Results: District 1st in Bio and Eng.Tech
Comments (No Facebook Account - Comment Here)
Full Name:   Email:   Country:   CAPTCHA:
Geethavani Awards 2017 - Sydney
Ghana Mazhai 2017 - Victoria
Join Jaffna Hindu Database
Jaffna Hindu Jan 2018
NZ OBA Inauguration
Alumni Fiesta 2014
College - May 2014
Kalaiyarasi 2014 UK
Battle of Hindus
College Web Team
Ground News About us
College Events Hindu Products
Principal's Message Contact us
College Song  
College Logo  
Hindu Database Hindu Media
Principals Diary
Teachers Photo Library
Old Boys Video Library
Students eBooks
User Name:    
Register new user    
Forgot your password?    
twitter facebook youtube