Home Contact us
Home History Diary eBook Principal Teachers Clubs Students Old Boys OBA Photos Videos Register

 Home International Australasia

Melbourne beats Sydney OBA and won the Kugan Cup 2015
Posted on: 15/11/2015 (Sunday)

The Battle of Blue and White, the cricket match between JHCOBA Sydney (Open Team) and Jolly Stars Melbourne for the Kugan Cup, was played for the second successive year on the Sunday, 15th November 2015, in Melbourne. Jolly Stars Melbourne thrashed Sydney OBA and took away the Kugan Cup, which was won by Sydney in the inaugural match played last year in Sydney.

The Kugan cup cricket match was inaugurated in 2014 and was organized in memory of Yogaratnam Kugan (Kalady) alias Ponnaman, who had contributed to the sports and other activities at Jaffna Hindu College. It is a joint initiative by JHCOBA Sydney and JHCOBA Melbourne. The 40 overs match fought between Sydney and Melbourne is played annually and the venue is chosen alternatively in Sydney and Melbourne. 

This year’s Kugan Cup match was played in Melbourne. The Sydney OBA open team was captained by Nimalan Sivanathan and the vice-captain was Muhunthan Thuraisingam. Melbourne Jolly Stars was captained by Narendran Shanmugaratnam.

This year’s toss was in favour of Melbourne; they won the toss and opted to bat first and scored 192 runs in 40 overs, losing all the wickets. That was followed by a lunch break at 12.45 PM and the match resumed again at 1.30 PM. After lunch, Sydney OBA open team came in to bat with a target of 193 runs, but managed to score only 184 runs in 40 overs for 7 wickets and lost the cup to Melbourne Jolly Stars. R.Ranjithan scored the highest with 56 runs. The man of the match was Garthik (Melbourne Jolly Stars) who scored 55 runs and the best batsman was Sivanesarupan (Melbourne Jolly Stars) who scored 51 runs. The best bowler and best fielder were Nirupan (JHCOBA Sydney) and Naren (Melbourne Jolly Stars) respectively. 

The match ended around 4.30 PM and followed was the Presentation ceremony. Melbourne OBA President Mr.Vijeyarajan presented the Kugan Cup to the winning team. During presentation ceremony, Sydney OBA President Mr.Gunaratnam Partheepan said some words about Kugan and his contribution to Jaffna Hindu sports and called for a minute of silence in his remembrance. Also he said that this match brought back the memories of school days of 1990s and was nice to see all the Jaffna Hindu cricketers in Sydney and Melbourne coming together for the match and honouring Kugan's contribution.

The event was graced by a large gathering. The executive committee members of Sydney OBA, Mr.Gunaratnam Partheepan (President) and Mr.S. Srikumar (Secretary) too were present at the event in addition to Melbourne OBA Secretary Mr.A.Thevakumar and Sports Secretary Mr.T.Athavan. Melbourne OBA thanked the Sydney open team and the OBA for coming all the way to Melbourne to play the match.


























Recent Posts
Inter House Athletic Meet held on 16th Feb; Mr.Loga Pradhaban Chief Guest; Champions - Sellathurai
 Hindu Circle   
Maha Sivarathri is on Tuesday, 13 Feb 2018 ; ANZ 14 Feb
Mr.Sathasivam Nimalan appointed as the new Principal of Jaffna Hindu
JHCA Canada AGM held on Dec 9th, Krish Ratnasingham was elected as President
3A's 21 and 2A 1B 25 for Jaffna Hindu in the GCE (A/L) 2017 Results: District 1st in Bio and Eng.Tech
Comments (No Facebook Account - Comment Here)
Full Name:   Email:   Country:   CAPTCHA:
Geethavani Awards 2017 - Sydney
Ghana Mazhai 2017 - Victoria
Join Jaffna Hindu Database
Jaffna Hindu Jan 2018
NZ OBA Inauguration
Alumni Fiesta 2014
College - May 2014
Kalaiyarasi 2014 UK
Battle of Hindus
College Web Team
Ground News About us
College Events Hindu Products
Principal's Message Contact us
College Song  
College Logo  
Hindu Database Hindu Media
Principals Diary
Teachers Photo Library
Old Boys Video Library
Students eBooks
User Name:    
Register new user    
Forgot your password?    
twitter facebook youtube